Product Review: Rimmel London Sun Shimmer Self Tan Mousse Matte

TLDR: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

So it’s getting to the time of year in the UK and even Ireland that it is almost socially acceptable to go out bare legged and reasonably expect not to freeze to death. But it’s also still that time of year where my legs are ghostly pale and I’m in shop changing rooms looking at outfits going yeah but imagine this but with a tan. Last year I was hooked on the L’Oreal Sublime Bronze Spray to get myself golden brown but it was a little messy to apply and very expensive to keep up so I’ve been researching alternative products to keep me looking fresh, healthy and non-transparent throughout the spring summer months.

So I did some googling and some shopping around and I found this wonder product. I purchased it Penny’s for €6.50 (£5.60), cheaper than buying from boots (£5.99 in the sale, £7.99 RRP) but marginally more expensive than ordering on Amazon where it’s only £5. I brought two of the 150ml bottles in the shade light as I didn’t want the tan to be too intense. For one all over body tan, I have used about 1/3 -1/2 of a bottle.

The application process is pretty simple, exfoliate and moisturise all over before applying then just massage into the skin (being careful around elbows, knees and other areas where the skin is more absorbent). The instructions don’t specify the use of a tanning mitt and the consistency of the mousse could easily be applied using the hands, however, I like to use a mitt when tanning as it avoids getting streaks on the hands and fingers. Once applied leave about an hour before getting dressed or lying down for the tan to dry, this is a little while but I can handle it to avoid tan lines.

While applying there is a slight guide colour that helps you see if you have covered evenly, this develops into a really nice colour over the hour. The great thing about this product is that it offers instant gratification, after one hour you are left with a really nice golden glow, you can apply the night before or the morning of and still going out looking healthy and sun kissed. The base or guide colour will be removed with soap and water but underneath there is a gradual tan that develops with more application. The bottle says it can last up to three weeks if topped up every few days. Normally when using these kinds of products it takes up to a week of applications to reach the colour I want, but with the Rimmel mousse I got the colour I wanted on first application and will top it up a once or twice a week to keep it looking fresh.

The overall look of the tan is really smooth and warm, no streaks or weird dark patches, I even managed to do my back with no real trouble. One of my favourite things about this product is its matte application. I have never understood why wanting to look tanned over summer has meant I also have to go full on Edward Cullen in terms of glitter. I love sparkle as much as the next girl but that doesn’t mean I’m prepared to impersonate Tinkerbell from March – September. Obviously, I still want to be glittery sometimes but this product gives me the freedom to decide when, so I’m not constantly an 11-year-old girl on her way to a school disco in 2005 with a lush glitter bug in her patchwork jeans pocket (wow long metaphor).

Finally, you can all breathe a sigh of relief that this product isn’t lying when it markets itself non-transfer. My sheets, towels, clothes, surfaces are all totally tan free meaning that this can be your go-to product when sporting that cute white dress without worrying about orange stains appearing under the arms. The only drawback of this product is that it does have that classic fake tan smell to it, which I can never tell if I love or loathe. But I got Victoria Secret body mists coming out my ears after all my trips to duty-free so I am fully equipped to handle this setback.

This product was affordable, clean, quick and effective. It gave me a healthy tan without stress and is going to be my go to glow for the summer of 2017.

Leave a Reply

