Don’t Believe the Hype – Beauty Buyers Remorse

Disclaimer: These are my own personal opinions of products, I do not speak for everyone only my own experiences, I also do not mean to discredit any brands here, every brand mentioned in this post I own other beauty products from that I love. This is not a post about negativity, more to share that make up is not one size fits all. 

I am an avid watcher of favourite videos on youtube, I love to read Buzzfeed articles on must have products and I very rarely buy a high-end product without reading it’s reviews online. But sometimes what works for others isn’t what works for you, you might be looking for something completely different from a product than reviewer and so researching who loves the product just isn’t enough. Let us not forget sponsorship and paid advertorials and the fact that so many people reviewing products are professional MUAs, so this is a post to say “hey I brought these products and I didn’t like them and it’s okay if you did like them or you still want to try them, but I want you to know that I didn’t like them and that’s okay too.” 

  1. NYX Professional Makeup The Curve Liner – £12

I Screen Shot 2017-03-29 at 17.33.26am such a fan of a winged liner but only when executed well which is something I really struggle with. This liner was a little more expensive then I would like to spend on a drugstore liner but if it helped me achieve the perfect Cleopatra look I was willing to shell out the money. The product concept is really strong, the shape of the liner is designed so that you grip it in a way to give you a steadier hand and get more control over your wing. But really it’s just awkward. I end up holding it wrong and my hands are too small to get the grip right. The liner formula itself is fine, but nothing special and I find myself going over it with liquid liner to get a more black result.

        2.Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara – £7.99

EVEScreen Shot 2017-03-29 at 17.32.47RYONE raves about this mascara, YouTubers, bloggers, friends they all love it, its meant to be the holy grail of drugstore products. Beauty aficionados like Taya Burr and Zoella throw aside the Charlotte Tilbury and Benefit products to reach for this Mascara that comes in under a tenner and is available in most drugstores. But I don’t like it, in fact, I dislike it, I find the formula clumpy and I don’t like the shape of the wand. I was so so disappointed when I finally got my hands on it. I’ve worn it on a handful of occasions and I find it very difficult to build on or get length from. I’ve also noticed that when wearing it for extended periods it goes flaky and irritates my eyes.  I wanted to love it but we just couldn’t see eye to eyelash.

         3. Benefit 3D BROWtones eyebrow enhancer -£20Screen Shot 2017-03-29 at 17.32.21

I will admit this was an impulse buy and I didn’t do my normal research into this product. For me dropping £20 on a product is a pretty big deal and very few products have left me with as many ragrets as this one did. I purchased this just after benefit launched their new brow line over summer and if I’m honest it’s like running a mascara wand covered in water over my brows. I can see zero difference after using it then when I do my brows normally.  I admit that I don’t have the strongest brow game in the world, but I have a look and I work with it, this product emptied my purse and did nothing to put me on the on fleek spectrum. Such a waste of money I could have spent on food. In my opinion, if you want to up your brow game you are better off investing in a good threading and a brow brush then this product.

         4. Kiko Colour Correct Concealer Palette – £13.90

Screen Shot 2017-03-29 at 17.31.36So Christmas 2015 I asked for 2 colour correct palettes for Santa the Kiko and the NYX, I was new to the world of colour correct and had this product been my first experience of it I probably wouldn’t have stayed. Fortunately I used the NYX one first and loved it and thus knew instantly that this one wasn’t for me. The formula is a weird powder/creme mix that was really difficult to get pigment from, it dried my skin out and didn’t blend well under foundation at all. Maybe this would be better for someone with oilier skin who doesn’t like using more liquid consistency products but for me, it just wasn’t worth the effort.  (I actually ended up giving this product away I disliked it so much which I why I don’t have it to photograph sorry.)

          5. Real Techniques Starter Set 1406 – £21

Screen Shot 2017-03-29 at 17.31.28So, in general, I love real techniques brushes, they are hella pricey but they blend beautifully and are aesthetically pleasing on a dressing table. There is nothing wrong with this set (eye brushes) but also there is really nothing special about it. I really wish there was an option to buy with and without the travel case, while it is clever that it doubles as a stand which is handy for drying, I don’t want, need or use it but with a £21 price tag for 5 brushes, I feel like I am paying for it. These brushes are perfectly fine for an eye look, they are marketed as the smokey eye kit but I feel like they could do which changing the base and crease brushes slightly, also a more versatile blending brush would have been great as the key step in all eye looks is the blend. As I say these brushes are really fine but with real techniques, I want to be wowed and I don’t think I like them any more than my Primark eye brushes.

Let me know in the comments if there are any products high end, drugstore or otherwise that you wish you’de known more about, or if you think I’m an idiot for not liking these products.

Catty xo

2 thoughts on “Don’t Believe the Hype – Beauty Buyers Remorse

  1. Pingback: In lumina

Leave a Reply

