Festival of Lanterns

So this week  I was lucky enough to attend the Magical Lantern Festival in Chiswick. It was absolutely beautiful. The festival held in Chiswick House (or around its gardens) fell in line with the Chinese new year and was themed specifically around the Silk Road. The lanterns were spectacular to look at and the whole atmosphere of the event was somewhat surreal. I kept thinking to myself as I wandered between the 10ft tall light features “I can’t believe I’m still in London”.

The whole event has an otherworldy feel to it. The art features covered everything from animal to Disney to landmarks to Asian culture and each was more spectacular than the last. When you enter the festival you walked around a set path and it got more and more impressive the further in you went. I wish I had more pictures to share with you all but unfortunately, British weather being what it is my phone actually got water damage from the rain and gave up half way around. While the event itself is over now I would really recommend looking out for similar things in your local area, it was a great way to get out of the house and experience something you would never think available in a city centre.

I’ve always been a great lover of art and creativity but as someone without a lick of artistic talent myself, I’ve always been conscious that a lot of it goes straight over my head. Maybe it was the sheer size of these creations of the way you felt transported to another world being engulfed by them but I really loved the atmosphere this event created, mixing art and culture and making is accessible to everyone.

While the weather was against me I would do it all again, but I would maybe bring a waterproof camera and some wellies.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

