Dressing table essentials

There is nothing I enjoy more than having enough time to get ready leisurely in the morning. I would definitely consider makeup and beauty to be one of my hobbies and in the same way that a guitarist finds time to practice and a gymnast works out it is important to make time for your beauty regime. Maybe not every day but certainly¬†for special¬†occasions I like to sit down fresh-faced ready to take my time and enjoy the getting ready process. I tend to put on some music or a tv show, light some scented candles and take my sweet time getting ready. It is a clich√©d joke to make fun of how long a makeup enthusiast takes to get ready and I resent this. I am always on time and I¬†won’t apologise for making time in my day for some self-care and the things that make me happy.¬†I also think it’s really important if beauty is one of your chosen pass times to have a dedicated space to layout your products and tools. Take pride in your interests and encourage your passions in life.

Now one of the few things I need persuading to do is spend money on my beauty habit. I walk past a 3 for 2 sign in boots and I can feel my money burning a hole in my pocket. I have to block emails from Kiko, elf, and MAC to stop from bankrupting myself with every sale. However, there are certain beauty items that we could all benefit from own but they never quite make it to the top of our wishlists. There are a couple of basic items that aren’t exciting to buy but will up your beauty game dramatically. Surprisingly enough when faced with a ¬£75 boots basket these are always the things to get pulled out rather than a new lipstick or highlight. A lot of these items aren’t even that expensive but because they aren’t as glamourous they tend to get forgotten. But I promise as soon as they hit your dressing table you’ll wonder how you ever lived without them.

1.A Pencil Sharpener 

Screen Shot 2017-02-10 at 19.01.40.pngWe are all tempted to just pull one from our old school pencil case but for the most part, these aren’t sharp enough and you’ll end up wrecking your super expensive MAC lipliner because you didn’t shell out for a dedicated beauty sharpener. My product recommendation for this would be the Barry M sharpener, it’s cheap, pink, and dual ended, and I’m yet to find a pencil, lip, eyebrow, or otherwise that it didn’t fit. This is just one of those little things that we have all be caught out on where we’ve been doing our brows and the pencil blunts and we end up going out like a Picasso painting, all because we took that ¬£2 sharpener out of our basket at the last minute. So go now and invest, maybe even get two, one for your dressing table and one for your makeup bag. Never be caught out again.

2. A decent nail file –¬†http://amzn.eu/6yfPZeJ¬†

Screen Shot 2017-02-10 at 19.01.13.pngI’ve attached a link for this one because it’s honestly the most amazing nail file I’ve ever used in my life. It’s so smooth and helps keep my nails long. Like hair, the best way to get long¬†and healthy nails is through regular cutting and shaping. I would even go so far to say that a properly shaped nail is more important that painting them for a put together look. While ¬£6 could appear pretty steep for a nail file, especially if you’re used to picking up the packs of ten in primark or using the ones for manicure kits, it is worth it. Trust me when I say you can feel the price difference. This one also lasts really well, if it starts to feel clogged you can just rinse it with warm water and it is like ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† new again.

3. Good pair of tweezers/ eyebrow knife 

I’m very tentative about recommending these products because, for the most part, itScreen Shot 2017-02-10 at 19.02.36.png isn’t a good idea to touch your own eyebrows. However, sometimes for whatever reason going to the salon isn’t an option and sometimes you’ve just got to be brave and go in yourself. Tweezers are a bold choice and I would emphasise that continual over plucking will stunt hair growth in the future, so don’t be heavy handed. That being said tweezers are a good item to have onScreen Shot 2017-02-10 at 19.03.04.png your dressing table, for other stray hairs, help with applying false¬†lashes and generally being useful. The brow knife¬†can look very daunting and again should be used with caution. However, as the knife only cuts hair it won’t prevent future hair growth so mistakes won’t last forever. They are really cheap on amazon and when used with the proper instructions are great for achieving the strong brow¬†look currently in fashion.

4. Cotton buds

screen-shot-2017-02-10-at-19-04-42
These are probably the most boring item on the list but no beauty set up is complete without them. From blending to correcting it is exceedingly difficult to create a solid eye look without some of these bad boys on hand. You can dip them in make up remover or just water to sharpen edges or remove mascara smudges. While it might feel a bit weird to pick up a tub of 300 in Poundland or boots you will be surprised how quickly you get through them. Also a great way of achieving a halo eye look without shelling out for small detail eye brushes.

5. Epistick

screen-shot-2017-02-10-at-19-00-49Right this one really isn’t glamourous but I promise it makes up for it by being hella¬†handy. Since a young age, I have been really self-conscious of the hair on my upper lip convinced that everyone was staring at it. Then a couple years ago as if hormones¬†decided life wasn’t tough enough I discovered a chin hair and I knew I was going to have to up my facial hair routine. I tried hair removal creme but it just really wasn’t that effective so I tried wax strips but they always made me break out for days after. Then I found the Epistick and the game changed. Now I won’t lie to you it hurts, like makes your eyes water hurt but it works so I can take it. It works like threading, you roll it against your face and it pulls all your peach fuzz out from the root. I’m hoping that if I use it enough it will weaken the root and my moustache will be history. But for now, I’m just glad I can hold a conversation without wondering if people’s eyes are drifting to my upper lip. (nb. there are loads of offers online that sell the epistick and the eyebrow knife for only a few pounds).


6. GOOD LIGHTING 

screen-shot-2017-02-10-at-19-03-45This one takes me back to my days of Sixth form when I would get up at 6 am to do my make up in the dark then look in the mirror at school and see a tangerine staring back at me. Good lighting is essential for a strong beauty game, shadows and coloured lighting are going to distort what you are looking at in the mirror and your end look will suffer as a result. Now obviously the best place to do your make up somewhere with good natural light but sometimes time of day or location or British weather doesn’t allow for this. I really recommend investing in some good desk lamps for your getting ready area. Alternatively, if you are feeling a bit fancy, invest in a mirror with built in lighting. I just got really great one from Amazon, it has built-in LED lights (battery powered) it is adjustable and is dimmable to achieve the perfect lighting for you. Buying good lightbulbs or a desk lamp might not feel exciting but you’ll be surprised how much nicer it can make getting ready (especially in the early mornings).

Thanks for reading and make sure to let me know your dressing table essentials in the comments!

Catty xo

2 thoughts on “Dressing table essentials

Leave a Reply

